My one minor public breastfeeding incident

As the mother of a 10 month old who still gets 95% of her nutrition from breastmilk, there does come a time when I have to nurse her in public. I have never had one negative experience. Even people who I thought were going to be appalled actually commented on how great it is.
The other day I was at a local inflatable play place with my 8 year old and my baby. The baby invariably had to eat, so I took her in to the adult section (couches, recliners, and a TV). Well, all was well until I noticed this woman very obviously glaring at me. Then, she turned towards her neighbor and hid her mouth with a magazine to (I assume) talk about how horrible of a person I am.

I, of course, did nothing but continue to feed my child. In my mind, I had all kinds of lovely things ready to say to her in case she dared mention that I either 1-go to the bathroom, 2-cover up, or 3-complained in any fashion.

Remember, mamas-anywhere you and your child are legally allowed to be, you are legally allowed to breastfeed. AND, no one can force you to cover up or remove yourself.  SC Code of Laws

SECTION 63-5-40. Breastfeeding.

(A) A woman may breastfeed her child in any location where the mother and her child are authorized to be.

(B) Breastfeeding a child in a location where the mother is authorized to be is not considered indecent exposure.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My one minor public breastfeeding incident

Leave a Reply

